Dear Future Daughter-in-Law,

Dear Future Daughter-in-Law,

For some reason lately I have been thinking often of you. I think of you as I teach my sons to  make their beds, pick up their clothes or clear their plates, to feed the dog or chew with their mouths closed. I think of you as I insist that they not have their sister do all of their chores for them. I think of you as I teach them respect and honesty, or as I watch them realizing that the strongest men are gentle and humble men. I think of you and it gives me hope and purpose in never giving up on all those little extra things I want them to know so that they can be the greatest blessing to you and your children. I think of you as I see them developing leadership qualities and quirky personalities. I think of you as I watch them soaking in their daddy and wanting so much to be like him. If I can give you a husband as wonderful as my husband is to me, how thrilled I will be!

I am richly blessed for since I was a tiny girl I have known mothers-in-law as respected, loved, honored women. I watched my mom and dad love and be loved by each other’s moms. Then I was grateful to come along early enough in John’s life to see both of his grandmothers love and be loved by his parents. I have never one time doubted the love and support John’s mom has for me nor has he ever not known of the respect and love my mother has for him. And this is what I pray I will bring to you. Someone else to get behind you and stay there, to hold you up, to love you dearly.

Maybe I think of you often now because at my children’s ages I knew my husband. Sometimes I wonder, could I know you already? Only God knows and in the perfect time He will reveal. Maybe I think of you often because I am preparing to meet a new baby and thinking of the beauty of God’s design for our hearts. How John will hand me that baby after all the hard work of labor and my heart will sing, “I know you! You are not a stranger to me. I have prayed and prepared and sought God to be ready for your arrival. And now I will love you for all eternity.” And I know that in a very similar way when my boys tell me of the one God has given them as helpmeet, my heart will sing that very same song.

Maybe some day I will give this to you, maybe the night before you marry my son. Then you will know that all these many years before, my heart was thinking of you. And I will work hard in God’s grace and strength to train these boys into true men and godly soldiers, and again God will do his miracle as He brings all of us together after the labor and training and to you my heart will be singing, “I know you! You are not a stranger to me. I have prayed and prepared and sought God to be ready for your arrival. And now I will love you for all eternity.”

One thought on “Dear Future Daughter-in-Law,

  1. This is so beautiful! And it reflects my heart and thinking as well. Thank you so much for sharing this and for your wonderful example. Your future daughter-in-laws and son-in-laws will be doubly blessed by having you as a mother-in-LOVE! That is what I call Tom’s mom, our Mimi. She is the perfect example of unconditional love and acceptance! Love you, too!!!

Leave a Reply

