The Return to Blogworld

I have taken a year’s sabbatical from blogging in order to take care of the needs of my little crew, but just as there is a time to mourn and a time to dance, there is a time to write and a time to remain silent. My time for silence has ended and from every corner imaginable I have been encouraged to return to the land of the written word that floats through space. My e-mail and Facebook inboxes are full of a constant flow of friends, family, friends of friends, and the occasional “one time we were both in the same restaurant” messages (well, possibly not that last one) giving me the opportunity to do some of the things I love the most. To pray for them first of all, to talk to them about where God has brought me in the areas of relationships, health, family, homeschooling, marriage, and life in general, and then to encourage them in their own particular journey. While those individual connections are certainly closest to my heart, as a mom of four young ones I have been prompted again and again that because some of the topics I am questioned on most often are repeated subjects of inquiry, it would allow more time for the individual if I had a place where the more general topics were published and could be referenced and passed on to others. Therefore, THE BLOG. 🙂 A place to address why we threw out the pancake syrup or my favorite baby equipment. Then, when my inbox is full of messages with the word “syrup” in the title, I have a quick place to send them instead of them waiting for my response until our school week has ended and Mommy can doff the hat of teacher and don the hat of friend once again. So, if you want a plethora of pictures of our last family vacation (and I know you do), you will have to befriend me on Facebook and endure my 97,000 Kailey hugging Princess Aurora shots. Here I will be attempting to share my heart, what is working for us and what is not, what it looks like to have a very real, very UNsupermom life loving the many roles I am called to play.

My most often asked questions are definitely in the area of homeschooling because I fall in the slightly rarer category of someone who was exclusively homeschooled through graduation and is now homeschooling my own children. While there are many women far wiser than I to expound on everything from curriculum to choosing the right writing paper, this is a very personal decision that affects your family at its very core and I find that my friends and acquaintances want flesh and blood, practical, down in the dirt suggestions for HOW WE STAY ALIVE. Yes, it usually is that dramatic. So with our return to regularly scheduled school programming on Monday (I’m SO excited!!!!), I think I will begin my blogging adventures with “A Day in the Life” shots. Unedited pictures that will show you the madness, beauty, mess, fun, togetherness, joy, failures, and victories, of this unknown mystery known to the rest of the world as “homeschooling.” If it is something God is calling you to do, perhaps it will encourage you, if it is something you have never understood, perhaps it will enlighten you, if you have someone in your life walking this path, perhaps you will be more able to bless them with your support, or if you just desperately need to follow every step Mr. Levi takes throughout his tiny, adventurous existence, it might help you there too. 🙂

So to my grandmother and best friend I say, welcome back to my world. To anyone else who stumbles onto this journey with me, welcome. Whether you are starting back to school as a seasoned mom, packing little people off to their classrooms for the first time, or snuggling an infant who is blissfully unaware that the alphabet exists, whether your family’s avenue for ministry includes home, school, office, playground, sports field, grocery store, and/or backyard, may we daily keep our focus on the heart of our role as Mom or Dad. “Hear, O Israel: The LORD our God, the LORD is one. Love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength. These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates.” Deuteronomy 6:4-9

Blessings on your week!

2 thoughts on “The Return to Blogworld

  1. I’m glad you are back. You have such gracious wisdom as you willingly share your journey and where God has you while encouraging others to seek God’s will for their life and family. I will look forward to keeping up with you via your blog.

Leave a Reply

